My Top 6 Favorite Four Sisters and a Wedding Memes as a Psychometrician

Rich
4 min readApr 11, 2019

--

I have been working as a psychometrician in a medical clinic for the past three months now. Working as one, I am administering, scoring and interpreting standardized battery of psychological test to local and OFW applicants as part of their medical exam for employment purposes.

I may just be a newbie in the industry but I have a lot of various experiences with my work and dealing with people.

Here are my top 6 four sisters and a wedding memes that are so d*mn relatable

source: @gorgeouspam via gorgeouspamy.blogspot.com
  1. This pretty much sums up how diverse people you may encounter with my line of work. Most of them are OFW’s that have been overseas before so psychological evaluation was not at all new to them. There are also lots of first-timers who, upon entering the room, were so nervous and would even have to compose themselves first before asking:

Sir, magpapa-psycho po” *cringe*

Some people would not even greet you and will just sit there as if you never existed (lmao). While some of them are just so polite and kind and you just want to thank God and wish that you have that kind of people every day.

source: @nonononoelle via: twitter

2. This is me when I am trying to explain what the test is all about and they see abstract test items and they were like:

Ah abstract. Hahanapin yung naiiba. Alam ko na ‘yan”.

source: @cluelesster via: twitter

3. Of course, 4 sisters and a wedding reference without this iconic line from Bobbie Salazar? That’s a scam, dude.

This is me when they enter the psych room 30 minutes before closing time when the minimum time of the battery of test is 45 minutes and they try to beg by saying this golden statement:

Malayo pa po kasi pinanggalingan ko”.

Kidding aside, this is one of the most difficult decisions I have to make every time since most of the patients (as we call them in the clinic) are all coming from far provinces and I know for sure that eventually, my conscience will kill my sanity.

Me: *cries significantly*

source: @ToniGonline via: twitter

4. When they politely ask if the result can be released right after they passed the paper lmao. On a serious note though, some people don’t really have any idea how my job works. While some are just plain curious about their test results.

This meme is a big mood. My job, as you try to look at it on a zoom out perspective, seems pretty easy but when you try to zoom in, there’s a lot of difficult tasks, loads of paper works, ethical considerations, strict standardized practice and clinical judgment you have to execute.

So to all psych professionals out there, you are doing great sweety!

screenshot via ABS-CBN Star Cinema youtube channel

5. When they get so emotional answering some test and starts to apologize for it…

As my favorite line from a poem A People Place by William J. Crocker goes:

If this is not a place where tears are understood, where do I go to cry?

Yes, guys, it happens. Sometimes you will be surprised when one moment they were just sitting there, answering quietly and then suddenly you will hear sobs. This kind of moments always serves as a reminder for me the very reason as to why did I choose my profession.

screenshot via ABS-CBN Star Cinema youtube channel

6. Say it louder, Bobbie! Whenever patients have to come back again for further interview and re-evaluation and they start to complain about the process when what I’m really doing is for them — to make sure they are psychologically fit and ready to work so as not to cause any more damage or harm to themselves. *sigh*

What I have observed, in the span of my working experience, patients tend to be more accepting when other areas of functioning are the reason for their re-evaluation but not when it is their psychological.

I guess this needs a lot of awareness to be done. That their psychological aspect is just as important as their physical health and whenever there are findings in whatever aspect of their overall well-being, it has to be properly addressed.

Just like this iconic scene of 4 sisters and a wedding, issues, may it be personal, must be well communicated with people capable of helping you.

Different aspects of our well-being are equally important and there should not be a competition between them.

--

--

Rich

personal essays (and ramblings) of a filipino psychometrician and educator